Garland County, AR to consider county-wide ban on pit bulls

Garland County officials will be discussing animal control at the next Quorum Court meeting on September 17, and the topic of banning “pit bulls” is among the issues to be discussed. The hearing is set for 5:30pm at the Garland County Courthouse where county officials will get public opinion on what needs to be done before moving forward with any legislative action. Officials are reaching out for assistance, so please take this opportunity to work with them towards creating an ordinance that targets irresponsible and reckless dog owners regardless of the breed of dog they own.

Please send your polite, respectful and informative opposition to breed specific legislation to the Garland County officials listed below. Please also include viable alternatives in the form of strong, breed-neutral ordinances for their consideration.

Garland County Quorum Court
Justices of the Peace

thomasja@sbcglobal.com,Marilyn@wattstreet.com,Snoopybob65@gmail.com,
grpritchett@yahoo.com,rayowenjr@hotmail.com,justicejpf@hotmail.com,
numeromckee@yahoo.com,Vaughna26@aol.com,frankyjohnny@hotmail.com,
Donald@donaldlaymon.com,mickeywgates@aol.com,RDavis@garlandcounty.org

Four Pit Bull attacks in four days
8/28/12

* * *

“The law just doesn’t have enough teeth to get people to take on that responsibility and control their animals,” said District 4 Justice of the Peace Mary Bournival.
County officials like Bournival are considering everything from collecting a bond from owners of dangerous dogs to banning Pit Bulls from the entire county.
“When I think about the number of people who have been affected this weekend alone by Pit Bulls, I don’t know what to do. I’m at a loss as to what we should do,” she said.

Entire article: http://m.fox16.com/display/574/story/8f8e3e30b258f1bbbb1092e636981966

Garland County pit bull attacks bring calls for ban on breed

GARLAND COUNTY – A string of four dog attacks on children and pets in three days in Garland County has prompted calls for a county-wide ban on pit bulls.

Entire article: http://www.katv.com/story/19401161/garland-county-pit-bull-attacks-bring-calls-for-ban-on-breed

3 responses to “Garland County, AR to consider county-wide ban on pit bulls

  1. It is not the dogs, it is the owners that can’t control them or don’t teach them how to act.

  2. I personally think that this is WRONG! I love all dogs, a spesific breed should not be targeted because prople do not know how to train their animals. Putbulls are not bad dogs it is how you raise them just like any dog! Any dog can turn on you. I’ve been bit by little dogs more then another dog matter of fact I have never been but by a pit and I am around them all the time. My boyfriends sister in law has 2 full blooded and 2 half blooded pit and they are the sweetest most loving animals I know. I even had one with my roommate and she has a 3year old that is around her all the time and my Nikki(my dog) just loves to be around small childeren. This is just wrong. Any dog can turn on you no matter what the breed. All I got to say is that if this ban goes threw I will be in jail alot because I will not give up my dogs and I will stand with the rest of my family that I know will not give up theirs either.

  3. I have always said (and will continue to do so) there is no such thing as a vicious breed. the owners of most any breed can make their dog vicious so punish the owner of the dangerous dog. the dogs are innocent victims of human cruelty – don’t punish them in total. we don’t hear of the many small dog bites just because they aren’t sensational enough for the news.

Leave a Reply

