Connecticut HB6311 would prohibit BSL

A bill has been proposed in the Connecticut legislature that would prohibit municipalities from passing breed discriminatory ordinances. HB6311 was introduced by Representative Diane Urbin and has been referred to the Joint Committee on Planning and Development.  This appears to be the same bill as HB5975, also introduced by Representative Urbin.  The difference appears to be the language used in HB6311, as it flows a little better and specificly states its purpose is to prohibit municipalities from adopting breed specific dangerous dog ordinances. Regardless, we do want to support both HB5975 and HB6311.

A hearing on HB 6311 is scheduled to take place on Wednesday, February 13, 2013 at 9:30 a.m. before the Joint Committee on Planning and Development.  Please take the opportunity to send the committee members your letter of support before that time.

CONNECTICUT RESIDENTS: Please reach out to your respective legislators, as well as the members of the Joint Committee on Planning and Development, and ask them to support and co-sponsor HB 6311. Let them know that laws that target dogs based on their appearance rather than their behavior creates communities that are more vulnerable to dangerous dogs, not less. The passage of HB 6311 would mean cities and counties, in drafting animal control ordinances, would have to tackle the root cause of dangerous dogs, irresponsible and reckless dog owners, rather than pass a blanket law that regulates all members of specific breeds.

To find your legislator, please visit this link: http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/menu/CGAFindLeg.asp

JOINT COMMITTEE ON PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT MEMBERS
Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov, Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov, Len.Fasano@cga.ct.gov, Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov, Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov, christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov, Joe.Diminico@cga.ct.gov, Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov, Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov, Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov, Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov, Noreen.Kokoruda@housegop.ct.gov, Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov, Matthew.Ritter@cga.ct.gov, Brian.Sear@cga.ct.gov, bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov, Tom.Vicino@cga.ct.gov, richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov

Follow the status of HB6311 here.

Please continue to support HB5975.  Our alert can be found here:
http://blessthebullys.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/connecticut-residents-support-hb5975-to-end-breed-discrimination/

Comments are closed.