BSL ALERT: Chippewa Falls, WI

The city of Chippewa Falls, WI is considering a proposal to ban pit bulls brought to the table by a resident. Please send your POLITE, RESPECTFUL and INFORMATIVE letters in opposition to breed specific legislation to the city officials listed below.

Mayor Gregory S. Hoffman
ghoffman70@aol.com

Michael Hanke
mhanke@chippewafalls-wi.gov

Brian Flynn
bflynn@chippewafalls-wi.gov

C W King
cwking@chippewafalls-wi.gov

Chuck Hull
chull@chippewafalls-wi.gov

Jane Lardahl
jlardahl@chippewafalls-wi.gov

Bill Hicks
bhicks@chippewafalls-wi.gov

George Adrian
gadrian@chippewafalls-wi.gov

Chippewa Falls pondering ordinance governing pit bulls

“My dog was fine,” Eckes said. “There were four puncture wounds. They weren’t very deep.”

Eckes said she didn’t take her pet to the veterinarian, but Sandy is more jumpy since the attack.

Eckes said she was upset when she later learned that one of the dogs previously had bit a 2-year-old child.

“I don’t understand how they can live in the city,” Eckes said. “I really do think those pit bulls are not safe.”

Eckes said she is not seeking monetary reimbursement from the attack, but she wants something done.

Police Chief Wendy Stelter said the city doesn’t have an ordinance that specifically addresses pit bulls. Stelter told the council the only applicable ordinance is for dogs running at large.

City attorney Bob Ferg said he wanted to read state statutes on the topic before commenting.

Councilman Brian Flynn recommended the matter be sent to the Public Safety Committee for further review

http://www.leadertelegram.com/news/front_page/article_3fb3c7be-2f2a-54e8-a6e8-bb694fa65b68.html

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s