Oct. 17: Bless the Bullys honors…

Today’s honoree for National Pit Bull Awareness Month is Ledy VanKavage. When I asked Ledy what inspired her to become such an outspoken defender of animals, and specifically, pit bulls, she replied:

It’s all because of Boody, a stray pit bull pup that I got when I was 4. He went everywhere with me, and was like my brother. My mom never worried about me because he was with me. When I’d get yelled at I’d hide out in his doghouse in the garage. He taught me how wonderful dogs can be, and he is the reason I became an animal lawyer.

Yet another person inspired by a pit bull to be all she could be and who puts her heart and soul into everything she does for these incredible dogs.

When animal law was not a popular area of the law to specialize in, Ledy was on the front lines advocating for animals that cannot speak for themselves. Before joining Best Friends Animal Society as their senior legislative analyst, Ledy worked for nearly a decade for the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) as senior director of legislation and legal training. Among other things, she is currently leading Best Friends’ national campaign to save the American pit bull terrier and pit bull type dogs.

Ledy works tirelessly to educate the public, law enforcement, and elected officials on matters concerning animal welfare, and she has played a part in a multitude of bills that benefit companion animals across the United States. Despite her very full plate, Ledy goes out of her way to help people like you and me in opposing BSL right in our own backyards. She gives her all for pit bulls and the fight to end breed discrimination, and her good work has left an impact all across the country, and she is so appreciated for all she does.

On behalf of Bless the Bullys and the National Pit Bull Awareness Campaign, thank you, Ledy, for following your heart and speaking for those who cannot to make the world in which we live a better place for both humans and animals!!

Leave a Reply

