The love of a pit bull…the inspiration that was Tiffin

Today is a sad anniversary for me. Tiffin, my very first pit bull, passed away a year ago today at the age of 13. Tif was, without a doubt, the most incredible creature God has ever blessed my life with. He taught me a lot about life and about myself. He showed me that love is blind, it makes no judgments and accepts you for who and what you are. Most importantly, he inspired me to stand up for what I believed in, and in doing so, he inspired so many across the country to be the voice for their beloved pit bull.

I can honestly say that having Tiffin in my life changed me. The love and devotion he inspired led me to my purpose. In some ways, it feels like he’s been gone forever, and in others, it feels like it was just yesterday. Although a piece of my heart will always be broken, I take comfort in knowing he had a wonderful life that was lived to the fullest, and his legacy will live on through the work he inspired me to do.

I wrote this several years ago, and wanted to share it with others who know and cherrish the blind love of a pit bull.

He Loves Blindly

He loves blindly
unable to see
those who go
out of their way
to avoid him

He loves blindly
unable to hear
the harsh words
of ignorance
against him

He loves blindly
unable to feel
the fear
that consumes those
who don’t know him

He loves blindly
without judgment
without hesitation
without knowing
the same is not
afforded to him

He loves blindly
in the hope that
one day
he will be judged
by what he is
and not
what he is perceived
to be

Lovingly dedicated to my first pit bull, Tiffin, who showed me everyday what blind love really and truly is.

6 responses to “The love of a pit bull…the inspiration that was Tiffin

  1. God bless Tiffin and all PitBulls!!! What a beautiful poem and dedication you have written. Thank you for shariing,

  2. Crying so much I cant see! I am so sorry for your loss….I have a rescue pittie Alex who is the love of my life and I dont know what I will do when its his time..he is my baby,my protector, my comedian,the best at giving kisses even when hew doesnt want too. hes a big funny lug head that I love so much. I know what you are feeling I lost my Brandi 7 years ago and I think about her everyday….you will always have special memories and your love will go on for your baby…Sending prayers to you ❤

  3. Sending you love and immense gratitude for the difference you and Tiffin have made in the lives of all pit bull families.

  4. My heart aches for your loss, I understand completely. Please know he is always with you, and look what a legacy he brought.

  5. Thank you for sharing this with us. It brought a tear to my eye. We have three and so we to know the love of these amazing animals. Please know that we know your pain as we lost one of our at six months and she fought to the last. May you find peace

  6. Gillian Colbert

    Amazing poem … my Floyd changed my life too. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

