Maple Ridge, BC, Canada

In light of recent events in British Columbia, Canada, we don’t want to let this alert for Maple Ridge, BC, Canada (originally posted in July), fall of the radar.

Officials of the District of Maple Ridge have recommended a new bylaw that singles out pit bulls as “aggressive” and would charge their owners a licensing fee four times that of other breeds. The fee would apply to pit bull terriers, Staffordshire bull terriers, American Staffordshire terriers, American pit bull terriers, or a cross of any of the breeds. According to Bylaws Director Liz Holitzki, pit bulls are being singled out to encourage responsible pet ownership. While the Bylaws director is pushing for the change, the mayor and some council members have expressed concerns with implementing a breed specific ordinance.

Initial reports indicated that the bylaw would be up for vote at the September 11 council meeting. However, the city clerk has confirmed that its expected to be put on the October agenda.

Please continue to send your polite, respectful and informative opposition to BSL to the Maple Ridge city officials listed below. Please include suggestions and viable alternatives, and urge officials to encourage responsible pet ownership through education and by enforcing the laws already in place.

District of Maple Ridge
11995 Haney Place
Maple Ridge, BC Canada V2X 6A9
Tel: 604-463-5221
Fax: 604-467-7329

Mayor Ernie Daykin
edaykin@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Cheryl Ashlie
cashlie@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Corisa Bell
cbell@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Judy Dueck
jdueck@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Al Hogarth
ahogarth@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Bob Masse
rmasse@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Michael Morden
mmorden@mapleridge.ca

Mayor & Council
Tel: 604-463-5221
Fax: 604-466-4308
mayorandcouncil@mapleridge.ca

Original Alert:
https://blessthebullys.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/bsl-alert-maple-ridge-bc-canada/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s