Maple Ridge, BC, Canada: BSL on 10/15 council workshop agenda

In July, the bylaws director for the District of Maple Ridge, BC, Canada recommended a new bylaw that singles out pit bulls as “aggressive” and would charge their owners a licensing fee four times that of other breeds. The fee would apply to pit bull terriers, Staffordshire bull terriers, American Staffordshire terriers, American pit bull terriers, or a cross of any of the breeds. Pit bull-type dogs would also be required to be muzzled when off the owner’s property and would also be subject to higher impound fees.

According to the bylaws director, pit bulls are being singled out “to encourage responsible pet ownership.” While the bylaws director is pushing for the change, the mayor and some council members have expressed concerns with implementing a breed specific ordinance.

“Pit bulls” have been a hot topic in British Columbia lately, and we need a good showing at the council workshop meeting set for October 15. Workshop meetings begin at 9:00 a.m. and take place in the Blaney Room at City Hall. Animal Control Bylaw No. 6908-2012 is number 4 on the workshop agenda, and City staff has recommended the proposal be forwarded to the full council.

Please continue to send your polite, respectful and informative opposition to BSL to the Maple Ridge city officials listed below. Please include suggestions and viable alternatives, and urge officials to encourage responsible pet ownership through education and by enforcing the laws already in place.

District of Maple Ridge
11995 Haney Place
Maple Ridge, BC Canada V2X 6A9
Tel: 604-463-5221
Fax: 604-467-7329

Mayor Ernie Daykin
edaykin@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Cheryl Ashlie
cashlie@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Corisa Bell
cbell@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Judy Dueck
jdueck@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Al Hogarth
ahogarth@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Bob Masse
rmasse@mapleridge.ca

Councilor Michael Morden
mmorden@mapleridge.ca

Mayor & Council
Tel: 604-463-5221
Fax: 604-466-4308
mayorandcouncil@mapleridge.ca

Previous alert for Maple Ridge
https://blessthebullys.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/bsl-alert-maple-ridge-bc-canada/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s