Oct. 15: Bless the Bullys honors

Today’s honoree for National Pit Bull Awareness Month is Chastity Hamilton. She was nominated by Jill Thompson:

Chastity Hamilton founded Peace for Pit Bulls Rescue in Nappanee, Indiana in 2011. Her people skills are awesome in every aspect of her life. She has a few part-time jobs to keep the pit bulls she rescues in good health. Her ability to socialize pit bulls is amazing. She knows the personalities of each one and has the ability to place them with wonderful families that complement those personalities. Her knowledge grows day by day. Her attitude is always positive with the people that have questions and even the ones that act negatively toward our breed of choice. She has been a breed advocate in every sense of the word. She teaches by doing.

We asked Chastity how she started working with pit bulls and what drives her passion. In Chastity’s words:

From the time I was a little girl, I’ve always had a passion for animals. That passion has grown stronger over the years, and I knew when I met my first pit bull that I would become a pit bull rescuer. I started out fostering for my friend Jill Thompson. Jill needed someone to foster her friends pit bull due to him passing away. So Wabbit became part of our family for about 6 months. Wabbit was an energetic girl with the cutest ears and big ole smile, but had such a loving disposition about her. She was carefree and happy and so loving. I began doing research on the pit bulls and found some heartbreaking information, but at the same time, found some of the best stories about them. The ones that broke my heart grabbed me, and I knew I had to become part of the good for these wonderful souls we call the pit bulls.

I did a search for pit bulls in need, and I found Princess (now named Leighlah) who was to be euthanized if she didn’t find a home. Leighlah was kept outside on a run, skinny and attention starved. She had a tick embedded on top of her nose, she had (still has) a scar on her hind leg that appears to be a cigarette burn. She was very timid and food aggressive, but after she realized that she would always be fed and loved and have a warm place to lay her head, she became the best dog ever. I decided I couldn’t let her go. Leighlah is now one of our family members, she is the one who helped me decide that this is what I need to be doing for the rest of my, that I will dedicate every minute possible to saving this wonderful breed.

I started working with The Animal Protection League of Anderson, Indiana, and I began to notice that I was rescuing the emaciated “throw away” dogs, the ones no one wanted and looked over, the sick ones who needed love and nursing back to health. Though they all have my heart, these are the ones I seem to lean more towards, the ones who need nursed back to health. This is why I do what I do. It seems everytime I rescue a pit bull, they rescue me. They give me a piece of them each time, and it never leaves me. They touch my soul and my heart.

I have dreams to have a pit bull refuge and to eventually go into schools to educate our future generations how important it is to spay and neuter, how important it is to treat animals the way we would want to be treated, with respect. I would like to become more active with the BSL laws as this, to me, is discrimination and it does not solve any issues at hand. I will someday get to this point, but until then I will continue doing what I love doing and that is rescuing. This is where my heart has led me and I will continue to follow my heart.

I feel we should all work together to help save the pit bulls, they need us just as we need them. I am a small rescue, trying to do my very best to help and educate how important it is to spay/neuter their pets. I may not be able to rescue many of them, but I do make sure that the ones I do rescue are loved and cared for with my whole heart. I am slow working on fund raisers, thinking of new ideas to make people aware that the pit bull is a wonderful, loving, caring, smart breed who deserves to be recognized for nothing less.

I will continue to do my very best for this breed. I am honored to have met and had the chance to know what true love is, the pit bull.

On behalf of Bless the Bullys and the National Pit Bull Awareness Campaign, thank you, Chastity, for your dedication and your passion for saving this wonderful breed! You are doing a fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

