CONNECTICUT RESIDENTS: Support HB5975 to end breed discrimination

A bill has been proposed in the Connecticut legislature that would authorize municipalities to adopt breed neutral dangerous dog ordinances and would prohibit breed discrimination.  HB5975 was introduced by Representative Diane Urbin and has been referred to the Joint Committee on Planning and Development.

CONNECTICUT RESIDENTS:  Please reach out to your respective legislators, as well as the members of the Joint Committee on Planning and Development, and ask them to support and co-sponsor HB 5975.  Let them know that laws that target dogs based on their appearance rather than their behavior creates communities that are more vulnerable to dangerous dogs, not less. The passage of HB 5975 would mean cities and counties, in drafting animal control ordinances, would have to tackle the root cause of dangerous dogs, irresponsible and reckless dog owners, rather than pass a blanket law that regulates all members of specific breeds.

To find your legislator, please visit this link: http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/menu/CGAFindLeg.asp

JOINT COMMITTEE ON PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT MEMBERS
Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov, Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov, Len.Fasano@cga.ct.gov, Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov, Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov, christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov, Joe.Diminico@cga.ct.gov, Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov, Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov, Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov, Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov, Noreen.Kokoruda@housegop.ct.gov, Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov, Matthew.Ritter@cga.ct.gov, Brian.Sear@cga.ct.gov, bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov, Tom.Vicino@cga.ct.gov, richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov

You can write your own letter asking legislators to support HB5975, but we recommend using the Best Friends’ very quick and easy letter writing tool.   

Follow the status of HB5975 here:

 

Advertisements

Comments are closed.