Nevada AB110 would prohibit BSL

Nevada Assemblyman James Ohrenschall  has introduced a bill that would prohibit breed specific legislation in the state of Nevada. Introduced on February 13, 2013, Assembly Bill 110 would revise provisions concerning the criteria and procedures for determining whether a dog is dangerous or vicious; providing that a dog may not be determined to be dangerous or vicious based solely on its breed.

AB110 is currently before the Assembly Judiciary Committee, and a meeting on the bill has been scheduled for Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 8;00 a.m.  The hearing will be held in Room 3138 of the Legislative Building, 401 S. Carson Street in Carson City, and the meeting will also be videoconferenced to Room 4401 of the Grant Sawyer State Office Building, 555 E. Washington Avenue in Las Vegas.

NEVADA RESIDENTS, please reach out to the members of the Assembly Judiciary Committee, as well as your respective state legislators, and ask them to support AB110. Let them know that laws that target dogs based on their appearance rather than their behavior creates communities that are more vulnerable to dangerous dogs, not less. The passage of AB110 would mean cities and counties, in drafting animal control ordinances, would have to tackle the root cause of dangerous dogs, irresponsible and reckless dog owners, rather than pass a blanket law that regulates all members of specific breeds.

Residents of Neveda can find the legislators in their respective districts here.

Please also send a note to Assemblyman James Ohrenschall  to thank him for introducing this common sense bill that would prohibit the passage of breed discriminatory ordinances in the state of Nevada.

Assemblyman James Ohrenschall
P.O. Box 97741
Las Vegas, NV 89193-7741
702-432-6999
James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us

Assembly Judiciary Committee
(Block copy and past e-mail for committee members)

Jason.Frierson@asm.state.nv.us,James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us,
Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us,Lesley.Cohen@asm.state.nv.us,
Olivia.Diaz@asm.state.nv.us,Marilyn.DonderoLoop@asm.state.nv.us,
Andrew.Martin@asm.state.nv.us,Ellen.Spiegel@asm.state.nv.us,
Wesley.Duncan@asm.state.nv.us,Michele.Fiore@asm.state.nv.us,
Ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us,Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s