Nevada: AB110 stalls in committee

A bill introduced by Assemblyman James Ohrenschall would prohibit breed specific legislation in the state of Nevada. Assembly Bill 110 would revise provisions concerning the criteria and procedures for determining whether a dog is dangerous or vicious; providing that a dog may not be determined to be dangerous or vicious based solely on its breed.

AB110 is currently before the Assembly Judiciary Committee, and a hearing was held in that committee on Thursday, March 7. During the short hearing, it became obvious very quickly that the various groups involved are not in agreement on some of the provisions in the bill. While all involved supported the move to prohibit breed specific ordinances, they are miles apart on some other issues, but Senator Ohrenschall indicated they would continue discussions on the bill in an effort to work out those differences.

NEVADA RESIDENTS:  Please reach out to the members of the Assembly Judiciary Committee and encourage them to work through their differences and move AB110 forward. Let them know you support this bill, and how very important the provision to prohibit breed specific ordinances in Nevada is to you.

Assembly Judiciary Committee
(Block copy and past e-mail for committee members)

Jason.Frierson@asm.state.nv.us,James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us,
Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us,Lesley.Cohen@asm.state.nv.us,
Olivia.Diaz@asm.state.nv.us,Marilyn.DonderoLoop@asm.state.nv.us,
Andrew.Martin@asm.state.nv.us,Ellen.Spiegel@asm.state.nv.us,
Wesley.Duncan@asm.state.nv.us,Michele.Fiore@asm.state.nv.us,
Ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us,Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us

Previous alerts for AB110:

https://blessthebullys.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/nevada-ab110-needs-your-support/

https://blessthebullys.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/nevada-ab110-would-prohibit-bsl/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s