Missouri HB 1116 would PROHIBIT the passage of breed discriminatory ordinances

A bill has been introduced in the Missouri state legislature that would prohibit the passage of breed specific ordinances. House Bill 1116 was introduced by Representative Ron Hicks, and is co-sponsored by Representatives Wilson, Bahr, Walker and Mims, and would prohibit any village, town or city from enacting any ordinance, order, policy, or regulation of dogs that is specific to breed. 

HB 1116 is currently before the General Laws Committee.  A public hearing was held on February 11, 2014, and the bill goes to executive session on February 25.   

 

MISSOURI RESIDENTS: Please reach out to your respective legislators, as well as the members of the General Laws Committee, and ask them to support HB 1116. Let them know that laws that target dogs based on their appearance rather than their behavior creates communities that are more vulnerable to dangerous dogs, not less. The passage of HB 1116 would mean cities and counties, in drafting animal control ordinances, would have to tackle the root cause of dangerous dogs, irresponsible and reckless dog owners, rather than pass a blanket law that regulates all members of specific breeds.

 .

Please remember to keep all communications with legislators polite and respectful.  The manner in which we communicate with decision- makers can and does make a difference.

Missouri residents, you can find your respective representative here.

Members of the General Laws Committee:

Caleb.Jones@house.mo.gov, Todd.Richardson@house.mo.gov,
Mike.Colona@house.mo.gov, Gary.Gross@house.mo.gov,
Don.Gosen@house.mo.gov, Courtney.Curtis@house.mo.gov,
Ron.Hicks@house.mo.gov, Jay.Houghton@house.mo.gov,
Jeremy.LaFaver@house.mo.gov, John.McCaherty@house.mo.gov,
Tom.McDonald@house.mo.gov, Rocky.Miller@house.mo.gov,
Mark.Parkinson@house.mo.gov, Stephen, Webber@house.mo.gov,
Dwight.Scharnhorst@house.mo.gov

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s